Polk, Butler and Folk Win MVP Honors
Jake Locker (Kim Grinolds/Dawgman.com)
Jake Locker (Kim Grinolds/Dawgman.com)
Media Relations
Posted Dec 9, 2009

SEATTLE – Junior quarterback Jake Locker won the Guy Flaherty Award, the Washington football program's oldest and most prestigious team award, while Chris Polk, Donald Butler and Erik Folk won MVP honors at the Husky football team’s postseason awards dinner. The dinner, which included coaches, players, family and fans, was held Wednesday evening at the Westin Hotel in downtown Seattle.

Locker, from Ferndale, Wash., returned from an injury-shortened 2008 season to start every game of the 2009 season at quarterback. He completed 230 of 394 passes for 2,800 yards, third-most in UW history. He threw for 21 touchdowns while also rushing for 388 yards and seven scores.

Polk, a redshirt freshman from Redlands, Calif., was named the 950 KJR Most Valuable Offensive Player. Polk became the first freshman in UW history to rush for 1,000 yards, finishing with 1,113, seventh-most in school history. Butler, a senior captain from Sacramento, Calif., led the team with 94 tackles and 15.5 tackles for loss to win the 950 KJR Most Valuable Defensive Player award. Folk, a sophomore from Woodland Hills, Calif., connected on 18 of 21 field-goal attempts and led the team with 89 points to win the 950 KJR Most Valuable Special Teams Player award.

Senior defensive end Daniel Te’o-Nesheim, from Waikola, Hawai’i, won the L. Wait Rising Defensive Lineman of the Year Award for the second straight season. He led the Dawgs with 11 sacks and finished his career with a school-record 30 sacks. Sophomore guard Senio Kelemete, in his first year on the offense after having played defensive tackle in 2008, won the John P. Angel Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Junior linebacker Mason Foster (Seaside, Calif.) took home the Earle Glant Tough Husky Award while junior safety Victor Aiyewa (Fresno, Texas) was honored with the Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award, for a hit during a kickoff return during the Notre Dame game.

The Travis Spring Outstanding Freshmen Award winner was true freshman cornerback Desmond Trufant (Tacoma, Wash.). The Husky Fever 12th Man Award was presented to senior safety Jason Wells (LaVerne, Calif.) while senior fullback Paul Homer (Omaha, Neb.) took home the 101 Club Academic Achievement Award.

The Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad Player of the Year went to freshman quarterback Keith Price (Compton, Calif.) while freshman linebacker Tim Tucker (Harbor City, Calif.) was announced as the Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad Player of the Year. The Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad Player of the Year Award was presented to freshman tailback Cole Sager (Burlington, Wash.).

Finally, several new awards were presented this year by first-year head coach Steve Sarkisian. Junior center Ryan Tolar (Pasco, Wash.), Te'o-Nesheim and sophomore fullback Tobias Togi (Seattle) picked up weightlifting awards while sophomore receiver Jermaine Kearse (Lakewood, Wash.) won the Apple Cup Big Play of the Game award.

The Kurt Gegner Memorial Award was presented to Joseph, a student assistant on the Husky equipment room staff, and Elise Becker, a member of the athletic training department's student staff.
2009 Washington Football Awards
Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational
Jake Locker
950 KJR Most Valuable Offensive Player
Chris Polk
950 KJR Most Valuable Defensive Player
Donald Butler
950 KJR Most Valuable Special Teams Player
Erik Folk
101 Club Academic Award
Paul Homer
John P. Angel Lineman of the Year
Senio Kelemete
L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year
Daniel Te’o-Nesheim
Earle T. Glant Tough Husky
Mason Foster
Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award
Victor Aiyewa
Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad MVP
Keith Price
Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad MVP
Tim Tucker
Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad MVP
Cole Sager
Travis Spring Most Outstanding Freshman
Desmond Trufant

Husky Fever 12th Man Award
Jason Wells
Weight Lifting Awards
Offense: Ryan Tolar
Defense: Daniel Te'o-Nesheim
Construction Crew: Tobias Togi
Apple Cup Big Play of the Game
Jermaine Kearse
Kurt P. Gegner Memorial Award
Joseph Wood
Elise Becker

Related Stories
A Fitting Ending to a Great Beginning
 -by Dawgman.com  Dec 10, 2009
Tuesday Press Conference Notes
 -by Dawgman.com  Dec 8, 2009
Locker Watch - Day Four
 -by Dawgman.com  Dec 10, 2009

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook and a full year of Sports Washington Magazine with an Annual Total Access Pass.
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Dawgman.com. Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.