Te'o-Nesheim Earns Five Awards
Daniel Te'o-Nesheim (Dawgman.com)
Daniel Te'o-Nesheim (Dawgman.com)
Media Relations
Posted Dec 11, 2008

SEATTLE - Junior defensive end Daniel Te'o-Nesheim earned several of the most prestigious honors, including the Guy Flaherty Award, at the Husky football team's postseason awards dinner. The dinner, which included coaches, players and family, was held Thursday evening at the Sheraton Hotel in downtown Seattle

Te'o-Nesheim, from Waikola, Hawai'i, was also named the Sports Radio 950 KJR Most Outstanding Defensive Player and won both the John P. Angel College Club Outstanding Defensive Lineman of the Year (for the second year in a row) and the L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year Awards.

The Flaherty Award, named after its first winner in 1908, is Washington's oldest and most prestigious individual award.

Sophomore wide receiver DpAndre Goodwin (Pacoima, Calif.) was named the teamps offensive MVP while sophomore linebacker Mason Foster (Seaside, Calif.), who finished the regular season as the Pac-10 co-leader in tackles, won the defensive MVP award.

Washington's MVP awards are voted on by members of the team.

Te'o-Nesheim was also honored as two of the team's four captains, along with seniors Juan Garcia (Yakima, Wash.), Michael Gottlieb (Mercer Island, Wash.), and Johnie Kirton (Everett, Wash.).

Goodwin also won the Sports Radio 950 KJR Most Outstanding Player Award for the offense while linebacker Chris Stevens (Mojave, Calif.) won the Special Teams Most Outstanding Player Award for the second straight season.

Also for the second straight season, Garcia won the John P. Angel College Club Outstanding Offensive Lineman while junior fullback Paul Homer (Omaha, Neb.) took home the Earle Glant Tough Husky Award for the second year in a row. Kirton was honored with the Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award.

KING-TV's Most Improved Awards were presented to senior receiver Gottlieb on offense while linebacker Donald Butler (Sacramento, Calif.) and safety Nate Williams (Renton, Wash.) shared the Most Improved honor on defense. The Travis Spring Outstanding Freshmen Awards winners were receiver Jermaine Kearse (Lakewood, Wash.) on offense and defensive end Everrette Thompson (Renton, Wash.) on defense. Husky Fever 12th Man Awards were presented to RS-freshman quarterback Ronnie Fouch (Redlands, Calif.) on offense and Stevens on defense.

Senior defensive back Desmond Davis (Olympia, Wash.) picked up the Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award, presented to the student-athlete who excels on the field and volunteers extensively in the community. Senior placekicker Ryan Perkins (Olympia, Wash.) won the Academic Excellence Award while senior long snapper Robert Lukevich (Seattle) took home the 101 Club Academic Achievement Award.

The Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad Player of the Year went to sophomore center Gregory Christine (Camarillo, Calif.) while freshman safety Greg Walker (Bellflower, Calif.) was announced as the Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad Player of the Year. The Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad Player of the Year Award was awarded to freshman cornerback Adam Long (Los Angeles).

The Kurt Gegner Memorial Award was presented to Stan McDonald, a senior student assistant on the Husky equipment room staff, and Kyle Shoun, a senior member of the video opertions departmentps student staff.
2008 Washington Football Awards
Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational
Daniel Te'o-Nesheim
101 Club Academic Award
Robert Lukevich
Team MVP Award
D'Andre Goodwin (Offense)
Mason Foster (Defense)
Sports Radio 950 KJR Players of the Year
D'Andre Goodwin (Offense)
Daniel Te'o-Nesheim (Defense)
Chris Stevens (Special Teams)
KING-TV Most Improved Player
Michael Gottlieb (Offense)
Donald Butler and Nate Williams (Defense)
John P. Angel Lineman of the Year
Juan Garcia (Offense)
Daniel Te'o-Nesheim (Defense)
L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year
Daniel Te'o-Nesheim
Earle T. Glant Tough Husky
Paul Homer
Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award
Johnie Kirton
Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award
Desmond Davis
Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad MVP
Gregory Christine
Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad MVP
Greg Walker
Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad MVP
Adam Long
Travis Spring Most Outstanding Freshman
Jermaine Kearse (Offense)
Everrette Thompson (Defense)
Husky Fever 12th Man Award
Ronnie Fouch (Offense)
Chris Stevens (Defense)
Academic Excellence Award
Ryan Perkins
Captains Award
Juan Garcia, Michael Gottlieb, Johnie Kirton, Daniel Te'o-Nesheim
Kurt P. Gegner Memorial Award
Stan McDonald (Equipment Room Staff)
Kyle Shoun (Video Operations Staff)

Related Stories
Washington Loses its Hart
 -by Dawgman.com  Dec 17, 2008
DawgmanRadio - Cal
 -by Dawgman.com  Dec 7, 2008
Photo Gallery - Cal
 -by Dawgman.com  Dec 6, 2008

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook and a full year of Sports Washington Magazine with an Annual Total Access Pass.
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Dawgman.com. Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.