Williams earns first-team honors

Reggie Williams (AP/John Froschauer)

Reggie Williams earned first-team All Pac-10 honors today as the conference coaches announced their all Pac-10 teams. Quarterback Jason Gesser of Washington State, quarterback Carson Palmer of USC and defensive end Terrell Suggs of Arizona State have been named Pac-10 Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year. In addition, wide receiver Mike Williams of USC was named Freshman of the Year and Jeff Tedford of California was named Coach of the Year.

First Team Offense 

QB	Jason Gesser, Sr., Washington State	  
QB	Carson Palmer, Sr., USC	                 
RB	Onterrio Smith, Jr., Oregon	     
RB	Steven Jackson, So., Oregon State	 
WR	Shaun McDonald, Jr.., Arizona State	  
WR       Bobby Wade, Sr., Arizona	 
WR	Reggie Williams, So., Washington
TE	Mike Seidman, Sr., UCLA	               
OL	Kwame Harris, Jr., Stanford	          
OL	Mike Saffer, Sr., UCLA	               
OL	Derrick Roche, Sr., Washington State	  
OL	Jacob Rogers, Jr., USC	              
OL	Calvin Armstrong, So., Washington State	

Second Team Offense

QB	Cody Pickett, Jr., Washington
QB	Kyle Boller, Sr., California
RB	Justin Fargas, Sr., USC
RB	Tyler Ebell, Fr., UCLA
WR	Mike Williams, Fr., USC
WR	Keary Colbert, Jr., USC	
TE	George Wrighster, Jr., Oregon
OL	Dan Weaver, Jr., Oregon
OL	Makoa Freitas, Sr., Arizona
OL	Zach Wilson, Sr., USC
OL	Eyoseph Efseaff, So., UCLA
OL	Bryce Bohlander, Sr., UCLA
OL	Scott Tercero, Sr., California

First Team Defense
DL	Terrell Suggs, Jr., Arizona State
DL	Eric Manning, Sr., Oregon State	        
DL	Tully Banta-Cain, Sr., California	
DL	Rien Long, Jr., Washington State	 
LB	Richard Seigler, Jr., Oregon State                	
LB	Nick Barnett, Sr., Oregon State	     
LB	Lance Briggs, Sr., Arizona	       
LB	Matt Grootegoed, So., USC
DB	Troy Polamalu, Sr., USC	            
DB	Marcus Trufant, Sr., Washington State	
DB	Ricky Manning, Sr., UCLA	       
DB	Dennis Weathersby, Sr., Oregon State	  

Second Team Defense

DL	Kenechi Udeze, So., USC	        
DL	Kai Ellis, Sr., Washington	
DL	Dave Ball, Jr., UCLA
DL	Mike Patterson, So., USC              	
LB	Kevin Mitchell, Jr., Oregon	     
LB	David Moretti, Sr., Oregon	       
LB	Marcus Reese, Sr., UCLA            
DB	Keith Lewis, Jr., Oregon
DB	Jemeel Powell, Sr., California	       
DB	Terrell Roberts, Sr., Oregon State	  
DB	DeShaun Hill, Sr., USC
DB	Derrick Johnson, So., Washington

First Team Specialists 
PK	Jared Siegel, So., Oregon	          
P	Nate Fikse, Sr., UCLA	               
KOR	LaShaun Ward, Sr., California	         
PR	Keenan Howry, Sr., Oregon	        
ST	Ray Wells, Sr., Arizona	                 

Second Team Specialists	          
PK	John Anderson, Sr., Washington	      
P	Tim Parker, Jr., Arizona State	         
KOR	Allan Amundson, Sr., Oregon	        
PR	Bobby Wade, Sr., Arizona                
ST	Mike McGrath, So., California
Co-Offensive Player of the Year: Jason Gesser, QB, Sr., WSU and Carson Palmer, QB, Sr., USC
Defensive Player of the Year: Terrell Suggs, DE, Jr., Arizona State
Freshman of the Year: Mike Williams, WR, USC
Coach of the Year: Jeff Tedford, California

Honorable Mention:

ARIZONA: CB Darrell Brooks, Fr.; TE James Hugo, Sr.; QB Jason Johnson, Sr.; DT Young Thompson, Sr.; FS Jarvie Worcester, Sr.

ARIZONA STATE: OG Drew Hodgdon, So.; CB R.J. Oliver, So.; TE Mike Pinkard, Sr.; FS Jason Shivers, So.; S Ricardo Stewart, So.; DE Jimmy Verdon, So.; LB Mason Unck, Sr.

CALIFORNIA: DT Lorenzo Alexander, So.; DE Tom Canada, Sr.; PK Mark Jensen, Sr.; OLB Matt Nixon, Sr.; OT Mark Wilson, Jr.

OREGON: OG Joey Forster, Jr.; WR Keenan Howry, Sr.; DT Haloti Ngata, Fr.; DT Igor Olshansky, So.; WR Samie Parker, Jr.; OG Nick Steitz, So.

OREGON STATE: DT Dwan Edwards, Jr.; OT Mike Kuykendall, Sr.; FL James Newson, Jr.; DE Bill Swancutt, So.; PK Kirk Yliniemi, Jr.

STANFORD: FS Colin Branch, Sr.; DT Matt Leonard Sr.; FB Casey Moore, Sr.; OG Greg Schindler, Sr.

UCLA: SE Craig Bragg, So.; OLB Brandon Chillar, Jr.; DT Steve Morgan, Sr.; FL Tab Perry, Jr.; OG Steven Viera, So.

USC: DT Shaun Cody, So.; SE Kareem Kelly, Sr.; RB Malaefou MacKenzie, Sr.; P Tom Malone, Fr.; MLB Mike Pollard, Sr.; CB Darrell Rideaux, Sr.; OG Zach Wilson, Sr.

WASHINGTON: FL Paul Arnold, Sr.; SS Greg Carothers, Jr.; ILB Marquis Cooper, Jr.; ILB Ben Mahdavi, Sr.; OT Nick Newton, So.; TE Kevin Ware, Sr.; OLB Jafar Williams, Sr.

WASHINGTON STATE: P Kyle Basler, Fr.; FS Erik Coleman, Jr.; DE Isaac Brown, Jr.; FL Devard Darling, So.; CB Jason David, Jr.; PK Drew Dunning, Jr.; RB Jermaine Green, Jr.; C Tyler Hunt, Sr.; WR Jerome Riley, Sr.; DE Fred Shavies, Sr.; DT Jeremey Williams, Jr.


Selection Procedures: The All-Pac-10 Team is selected by the Pac-10 head football coaches.

By School: Oregon State and Washington State placed the most players on the first team with five selections. UCLA and USC were next with four, followed by Arizona and Oregon with three each.

By Class: Of the 30 first-team selections, 18 are seniors, seven are juniors and five are sophomores. No freshmen made the first team.

Unanimous: Three players--SS Troy Polamalu of USC, DE Terrell Suggs of Arizona State and CB Marcus Trufant of Washington State--were named on the first team ballots of all 10 coaches.

Two-time Selections: A total of 11 players were voted first-team selections for the second time--MLB Lance Briggs, (ARIZ), P Nate Fikse (UCLA), PR Keenan Howry (ORE), DT Eric Manning (OSU), CB Ricky Manning (UCLA), WR Shaun McDonald (ASU), SS Troy Polamalu (USC), OG Derrick Roche (WSU), DE Terrell Suggs (ASU), WR/RS Bobby Wade (ARIZ), CB Dennis Weathersby (OSU).

Three-time Selections: MLB Lance Briggs of Arizona and CB Ricky Manning of UCLA were named first-team selections for the third time.

Double Dipper: Bobby Wade of Arizona was voted to the first-team at wide receiver and to the second team as a punt returner.

Classroom Star: Oregon State CB Dennis Weathersby pulled off the difficult double of being named to the first team of both the All-Conference Team and the All-Academic Football Team. Weathersby is a two-time All-Conference selection and a four-time All-Academic pick.

Dawgman.com Recommended Stories

  • SAN FRANCISCO -- Some quick hit comments from Pac-12 commissioner Larry Scott on the state of the Pac-12 and some new initiatives that are coming this men's basketball season, including an update on…

  • In his first game of the season, Husky linebacker commit, Sacred Heart Prep (Atherton, Ca.) LB Ben Burr-Kirven was a huge factor in his team's win. Here's a look at his big night as well as what each…

  • The Washington Huskies (5-2, 1-2) returns to Seattle for a Homecoming game versus Arizona State (5-1, 3-1) in the Huskies' lone October home game of the season. Kickoff is set for 7:45 pm and the game…

  • Every week, Fantasy Football Expert Rob Warner posts his big-name players to watch as they heal at the last minute before the games begin on Sunday. Philadelphia Eagles RB Darren Sproles (pictured…

  • Highly opinionated previews of every game. Are you ready for some insider info?