Trufant Wins Flaherty Award and Defensive MVP

Desmond Trufant (US PRESSWIRE)

SEATTLE – Senior cornerback Desmond Trufant won the 105th Guy Flaherty Award, the Washington football program's oldest and most prestigious team award, and was also named the Sports Radio 950 KJR Defensive MVP, while Austin Seferian-Jenkins and Justin Glenn won offensive and special teams MVP honors, respectively, at the Husky football team's postseason awards presentation.

The event, which included coaches, players, family and fans, was held Sunday afternoon at Alaska Airlines Arena.

Trufant, a senior from Tacoma, is a four-year starter at cornerback and served as a captain in 2012. After the season, he earned first-team All-Pac-12 and second-team All-America honors. The Flaherty Award, voted on by the players, was first awarded in 1908 and is given to the team's most inspirational player.

Seferian-Jenkins, a sophomore from Fox Island, Wash., has already set UW career records for receptions, receiving yards and touchdowns by a tight end. In 2012, he earned second-team All-Pac-12 and third-team All-America after catching 63 passes for 789 yards and six TDs.

Glenn is a fifth-year senior from Mukilteo, Wash., who started 10 games at safety in 2012. Named as the special teams MVP, he posted 66 tackles and had three interceptions during the season, earning honorable mention All-Pac-12.

Sophomore defensive end Andrew Hudson (Redlands, Calif.) won the L. Wait Rising Defensive Lineman of the Year Award while redshirt-freshman offensive guard Dexter Charles (Camano Island, Wash.) won the John P. Angel Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Junior safety Sean Parker (Los Angeles) was honored with the Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award while sophomore tailback Bishop Sankey (Spokane, Wash.), who rushed for 1,234 yards during the regular season, picked up the Earle T. Glant Tough Husky Award.

The Travis Spring Outstanding Freshman Award winner was true freshman safety Shaq Thompson (Sacramento, Calif.), and the Husky Fever 12th Man Award was presented to sophomore receiver Kasen Williams (Sammamish, Wash.). Senior center Drew Schaefer (Sammamish, Wash.) took home the 101 Club Academic Achievement Award while sophomore nose tackle Danny Shelton (Auburn, Wash.) was honored with the Academic Achievement Award.

The Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad Player of the Year went to freshman quarterback Jeff Lindquist (Mercer Island, Wash.). Sophomore defensive lineman Drew Schultz (Olympia, Wash.) was named winner of the Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad Player of the Year. The Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad Player of the Year Award was presented to freshman cornerback Cleveland Wallace (San Jose, Calif.).

Hudson, sophomore receiver DiAndre Campbell (Oakland, Calif.) and freshman fullback Psalm Wooching (Kailua-Kona, Hawai'i) picked up weightlifting awards.

Senior defensive lineman Semisi Tokolahi (Hilo, Hawai'i) was presented with the Don James Perseverance Award and senior wide receiver Cody Bruns (Prosser, Wash.) was named winner of the Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award.

Finally, three student staff members were presented with the Kurt Gegner Memorial Award: Mac Cahill (equipment), Reid Mayfield (video) and Meghan Barrington (training).

The Huskies return to the practice field Thursday and, next Monday, travel to Las Vegas for the MAACO Bowl, where they'll take on Boise State on Dec. 22.

2012 Washington Football Awards

Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational
Desmond Trufant

Sports Radio 950 KJR Most Valuable Offensive Player
Austin Seferian-Jenkins

Sports Radio 950 KJR Most Valuable Defensive Player
Desmond Trufant

Sports Radio 950 KJR Most Valuable Special Teams Player
Justin Glenn

Don James Perseverance Award
Semisi Tokolahi

101 Club Academic Award
Drew Schaefer

John P. Angel Lineman of the Year
Dexter Charles

L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year
Andrew Hudson

Earle T. Glant Tough Husky
Bishop Sankey

Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award
Sean Parker

Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award
Cody Bruns

Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad MVP
Jeff Lindquist

Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad MVP
Drew Schultz

Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad MVP
Cleveland Wallace

Travis Spring Most Outstanding Freshman
Shaq Thompson

Husky Fever 12th Man Award
Kasen Williams

Weight Lifting Awards
Offense: DiAndre Campbell
Defense: Andrew Hudson
Construction Crew: Psalm Wooching

Academic Achievement Award
Danny Shelton

Kurt Gegner Memorial Award
Equipment: Mac Cahill
Video: Reid Mayfield
Training Room: Meghan Barrington Recommended Stories

  • Husky nation is licking it's wounds after a heart-breaking, gut-wrenching, 27-26 loss to Arizona on Saturday. We jotted down some quick observations regarding the game in Tucson as well as the other…

  • Every week, Fantasy Football Expert Jeb Gorham digs in his list of rankings to find the best sleepers for deeper formats. Consider giving these players a chance, but be aware of the risks! Since the…

  • Forget the odds, forget the doubters; Washington had a monster chance to win a road game against a ranked opponent for only the second time in 22 chances Saturday in Tucson, and they blew it. And for…

  • When you talk about frustrating losses, this game will go down in the annals of Washington history in that category. From unforced turnovers to bad snaps to penalties to bad clock management, this…

  • Adrian Peterson’s defense attorney Rusty Hardin blasted the NFL commissioner over his handling of Peterson’s suspension, saying he is trying to make up for the NFL’s handling of the Ray Rice situation…