Thomas named 950 KJR Most Valuable Player

Isaiah Thomas (Kim Grinolds/

SEATTLE – The Washington Husky men's basketball team culminated its season with the annual awards banquet at the Don James Center on Wednesday night and junior guard Isaiah Thomas took home two awards, including MVP.

Thomas, who indicated on March 31 his intention of entering the 2011 NBA Draft, not only was named the 950 KJR Most Valuable Player, but earned recognition as the Playmaker of the Year. Thomas averaged 16.8 points per game and a Pac-10 best 6.1 assists per contest.

Thomas was not the only Husky player to earn multiple awards. Senior Matthew Bryan-Amaning was the recipient of the Marv Harshman Award (top rebounder) and John Meyers Defensive Player award. Bryan-Amaning shared the John Meyers award with fellow classmate Justin Holiday, who also took home top hustler honors with the Wurster Award.

Sophomore Aziz N'Diaye was named the team's hardest worker with the Industrial Award and shared the 101 Club Scholar-Athlete honors with junior Brendan Sherrrer. Sherrer was also named the recipient of the Brandon West Walk-On Award for a second-consecutive season.

Junior Darnell Gant earned the Hec Edmundson Most Inspirational award, perhaps one of the teams most prestigious honors.

Junior Scott Suggs was the squad's Most Improved Player. He increased his scoring average and minutes per game for a third-straight season.

A pair of up-and-coming freshmen took home the Coaches Award – C.J. Wilcox and Terrence Ross.

2010-11 Washington Men's Basketball Team Awards:
950 KJR Most Valuable Player – Isaiah Thomas

Hec Edmundson Most Inspirational – Darnell Gant

Marv Harshman Trophy (top rebounder) – Matthew Bryan-Amaning

Wurster Award (top hustler) – Justin Holiday

John Meyers Defensive Player – Matthew Bryan-Amaning and Justin Holiday

Most Improved Player – Scott Suggs

Playmaker of the Year – Isaiah Thomas

Industrial Award (hardest worker) – Aziz N'Diaye

101 Club Scholar-Athlete – Brendan Sherrer and Aziz N'Diaye

Coaches Award – C.J. Wilcox and Terrence Ross

Brandon West Walk-On Award – Brendan Sherrer Recommended Stories

  • SAN FRANCISCO -- Some quick hit comments from Pac-12 commissioner Larry Scott on the state of the Pac-12 and some new initiatives that are coming this men's basketball season, including an update on…

  • In his first game of the season, Husky linebacker commit, Sacred Heart Prep (Atherton, Ca.) LB Ben Burr-Kirven was a huge factor in his team's win. Here's a look at his big night as well as what each…

  • The Washington Huskies (5-2, 1-2) returns to Seattle for a Homecoming game versus Arizona State (5-1, 3-1) in the Huskies' lone October home game of the season. Kickoff is set for 7:45 pm and the game…

  • Every week, Fantasy Football Expert Jeb Gorham digs in his list of rankings to find the best sleepers for deeper formats. Consider giving these players a chance, but be aware of the risk! Tampa Bay…

  • Check out this classic video of Dan Larson battling an acrobatic sailfish on a trip to the world-famous Tropic Star Lodge in Panama.